I Dream For Tomorrow — 2017

Sometimes I dream

That when I wake up

People will laugh and love and respect.

Sometimes I dream

That the hatred of yesterday

Disappears in a whisper along with regret.

Sometimes I dream

That the earth stops revolving

And gives us a moment to think and to breathe.

Sometimes I dream

That those with the power

See beyond the high mountains and darkened, rough seas.

 

How can I dream?

When torture exists

When hatred and freedom exist side by side.

How can I dream

When we are divided

When we look for the places in which we can hide.

How can I dream

When others are suffering

When living is something riddled with pain.

How can I dream

When those with the power

Defy and deny and point fingers and blame.

 

Whose dream am I dreaming?

When my life is rosy

When I have a warm bed and water and food.

Whose dream am I dreaming

If my heart is beating

And I can explore the earth’s beauty and good.

Whose dream am I dreaming

When I have my freedom

When my soil allows me to live my life.

Whose dream am I dreaming

If I am so lucky

To live without fear, to live without strife.

 

Is dreaming misguided?

If it is a dream

And only a dream with miniscule chance.

Is dreaming misguided

If those with the power

Destroy the ability for humanity to advance.

Is dreaming misguided

When hope becomes nothing

Beyond a word that we try to exude.

Is dreaming misguided

When right beside us

People are stopping our ability to include.

 

I dream for tomorrow

When maybe the sunshine

Might wake the ones who can’t see the light.

I dream for tomorrow

When life could be hopeful

If we don’t look for yet more people to fight.

I dream for tomorrow

When those in power

Might take the hands of each boy and each girl

And raise them up gladly

In union and friendship

And welcome and love across all of the world.

 

I dream for tomorrow.

………………………………………………………….

 

SusieCoreth©AllRightsReserved2017

One thought on “I Dream For Tomorrow — 2017

Leave a Reply

