A Sonnet to the Sky — 2011

Quiet all around, the wind has dropped,

A bird sings softly in the evening light,

A lingering smell of metal, dust and oil

Warmed from a day that had been shining bright.

I see it there, my little metal bird,

The sun seems caught upon its glimmering tail,

It’s waiting patiently for me to come,

Release its breath; above the world to sail.

Suddenly the propeller starts to turn,

A wondrous sound across the valley heard,

We taxi, then the wheels lift off the ground,

I’m flying in my little metal bird.

And as I reach the pink and golden sky,

I think ‘this is the life’: to soar, to fly.

 

SusieCoreth©AllRightsReserved2017

Leave a Reply

